Friday, June 14, 2024
Text Size



This month is the final month before retirement for David Phillips as BIIBC CEO. David has been the face of the BIIBC for many years; being involved at events for 40 years. David has worked as Secretary & Treasurer from 2012 and then as CEO after amalgamation from 2019. David bows out at the end of the month and hands over to our new CEO Robert Stirling.

Robert Stirling, Newly appointed CEO of BIIBC

Robert officially takes over on 1st April 2024 and is excited about the challenge ahead and keen to continue the good work already done to make the British Isles Indoor events the best they can be. From being Sport Services Manager at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, to being General Manager at Macclesfield Town Football Club, to his other current role as Event Director for Bowls Europe, Robert brings a wealth of sports administration experience to the BIIBC. At 36 years old, Robert is still relatively young in the bowls world and will try to make improvements to modernise the events whilst preserving the history of the organisation for many years to come.

I'm sure we speak for everyone as we say thank you to David for his service to the BIIBC and bowls as a whole. We hope you have a happy and healthy retirement and look forward to seeing at the BIIBC events over the next two years as Vice President & then President in Wales & Ireland.  We also wish Robert good luck in taking the BIIBC forward.

CEO David Phillips alongside Anne Easton. Anne is also retiring from SIBA at the end of the season. We would like to thank Anne for all her hard work and support at BIIBC events and wish her well in retirement.




Brief History of the British Isles Indoor Bowls Council

The first Men’s International Series was held in Paddington in 1936 and was contested by England, Scotland & Wales with England winning the series becoming the first winners of the R.B. Hilton Trophy. The series was held until 1939 and recommenced after World War Two in 1949 and has continued uninterrupted to the present day.

The first Ladies International Series organised by the British Isles Women’s Indoor Bowls Council was held in 1952 and England were the winners becoming the first holders of the Clara John Trophy, they went to win a further 10 consecutive titles until Scotland won their first title in 1963 which was very fitting as the series was held in Edinburgh.

The National Indoor Bowls Council  formed in 1955 and was the forerunner of the BIIBC and consisted of England, Scotland & Wales. In 1966 the Association of Irish Indoor Bowls played in their first International Series which was held in Glasgow. The following year 1967 the first International Series was held in Belfast and to coincide with that event the British Isles Championships in Singles, Pairs and Fours was introduced, with the legendary David J .Bryant (England) winning the singles trophy and England & Wales winning the pairs & fours respectively. In 1972 Triples were added to the Championships followed by Junior Under 25 Singles in1988 and Over 60’s Fours in 2009.

The first ladies British Isles Championships were held in 1973 and also consisted of Singles, Pairs & Fours, Triples was added 1977 and Junior Under 25 Singles followed in 2002.

In 2000 the Channel Islands were invited for a 2 year trial period to send participants to play in the Championships and have remained much valued members of the BIIBC since.

In March 2009 the first Joint Ladies & Men’s Championships and International Series were played at Belfast IBC. BIIBC President Cecil Davidson described it in the official programme as “unique”. Joint Championships & International Series have been played ever since.

After prolonged on and off negotiations  between the BIIBC & BIWIBC history was finally achieved when in March 2019 at Falcon IBC, Chelmsford, England the BIIBC & BIWIBC agreed to unify and become one governing body to be known as the British Isles Indoor Bowls Council(BIIBC). The first Presidential Officers of the unified body being President Maurice Mayes(England), Senior Vice President Jane Type MBE (Wales), Junior Vice President Rod Coleman (Ireland). At the same meeting the title of the Secretary/Treasurer was changed to Chief Executive Officer.



The British Isles Indoor Bowls Council (BIIBC) is the properly constituted body for the sport of indoor bowls in the United Kingdom. Currently the constituent members are as shown in the table above.

Note: Jersey Indoor Bowling Association and Guernsey Indoor Bowls Limited who are members under the title of the Channel Islands.

The BIIBC has specific responsibility for the organisation and presentation of the British Isles Championships which consists of the following events:

U25 Singles

Open Singles, Pairs, Triples, Fours

Seniors Fours (Over 60’s)

International Series at Under 18, Under 25, Senior Over 50’s and the 'open' International Series.

These events take place on an annual basis and are currently rotated between England. Scotland, Ireland & Wales.

BIIBC | British Isle Indoor Bowls Council ™